Penlan RFC | 1st Team 0 - 21 Aberavon Quins RFC | 1st Team
Marc Sheppard
1 Conversion
3 Penalty

Match Report
23 May 2016 / Team News

Penlan 0 Aberavon Quins 21

Already assured of promotion the Quins had a tricky visit to Penlan seeking a victory for the championship of division two west central. The Quins pack were in dominant mood from the start and astute kicking from fly half Marc Sheppard made good use of the following breeze. Some good running from hooker Luke Davies and winger Steve Colarusso kept the Quins in the ascendancy .

The breaking down of the home defence was a very difficult prospect for the Quins but midway through the first half Penlan's fate was sealed when the ref waved a red card leaving their seven man pack to deal with the formidable Quins eight. Skipper Craig Cox lead his men by example and was a tower of strength with eager support from the lineout dominance of locks, Dale Bowen and Callum Beynon.

Mike Burgess, Luke Davies and Dan Morgan were just too good for their opposite numbers in the front row as the Quins scrum drove relentlessly forward. Sheppard eased his team ahead with a penalty and soon followed with two more. Penlan fought hard but their task was just too much as the Quins pack power wore them down. Back row men Conor O'Callaghan, Cox and Adam Dawe stifled the few chances the Penlan backs had and often combined in setting up counter attacks.

Full back Ryan Pugh and winger Marcus David put in some spectacular runs and scrum half Jake Flynn varied his play well. Throughout the season the Quins defence played a huge part in their success and this game followed that trend with centres Niall Price and Jordan Crealock putting in a hard shift. The Quins kept hammering away at the opposition and when gigantic tight head, Tom James and strong man loose head Jon Bamsey entered the fray any hopes that Penlan had were dashed.

Conor O'Callaghan grabbed a try as his pack drove the home scrum across the line for Sheppard to convert. More fresh legs were introduced as Glen Williams joined the forwards and Dean Scully and Jack Dacey the threequarters. Another unstoppable scrum resulted in a penalty try for the visitors and there were great scenes of jubilation at the final whistle as the Quins look forward to division 1 rugby next season as champions after receiving the winners trophy from WRU representative Chris Morgan.

Traditionally the first trophy awarded at the Quins is the Supporters Club player of the year which was presented to hooker Luke Davies for the second season running.  

The achievement is remarkable when two years ago the team nearly folded after not winning a league game for two seasons. The club is in the process of adding age  groups at all levels to youth and will welcome any ladies that wish to form a team also special needs organisations will be more than welcome.


Photo Provided by Vance Broad


There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos